North Central Hockey League
Four teams in NCHL for 2020-21 season

The North Central Hockey League will operate for the 2020-21 season with only four teams.

The Grandview Comets, Miniota-Elkhorn C-Hawks, Russell Rams and Swan Valley Axemen all signalled their intention to participate this season at a meeting in Russell on Sunday, Oct. 18.

Four teams from last year will not be back for various reasons. The Virden Oil Kings were accepted into the Tiger Hills Hockey League, while the Langenburg Warriors and Moosomin Generals are not being allowed by Hockey Saskatchewan to play outside of the province due to COVID-19 rules. The Waywayseecappo Wolverines will not ice a team this season.

The four teams decided to play a 12-game schedule with a double home and home series against each of the other clubs. While the schedule will not be finalized until early November, the league hopes to begin play on Friday, Nov. 13 and conclude on Sunday, Feb. 7.

As for playoffs, the semi-finals (1 vs 4 and 2 v 3) will be a best of three series, with the league final a best of five.

Blaine Shire will serve as the President and Commissioner for the 2020-21 season. Peter Nabholz is the 1stVice-President and Vice-Commissioner, while Rick Brethour will continue to serve as 2ndVice-President. Tanya Menzies (Secretary-Treasurer), Randy Kalynuk (Referee-in-Chief) and Greg Nesbitt (Statistician) will remain in their roles.

Recent Headlines
(4/16/2022) Warren Mercs win Hockey Manitoba Senior A title
(3/28/2022) Hockey Manitoba Senior Playdowns set
(2/24/2022) NCHL final dates set
(2/24/2022) NCHL recognizes Award winners
(2/14/2022) Playoff dates announced
(2/14/2022) Game location changed
(2/2/2022) Games on Feb. 4 and 5 postponed
(1/13/2022) Weekend games are postponed
(1/7/2022) Games postponed
(11/29/2021) Change of location for game
Go To Archives