North Central Hockey League
Four teams in NCHL for 2020-21 season

The North Central Hockey League will operate for the 2020-21 season with only four teams.

The Grandview Comets, Miniota-Elkhorn C-Hawks, Russell Rams and Swan Valley Axemen all signalled their intention to participate this season at a meeting in Russell on Sunday, Oct. 18.

Four teams from last year will not be back for various reasons. The Virden Oil Kings were accepted into the Tiger Hills Hockey League, while the Langenburg Warriors and Moosomin Generals are not being allowed by Hockey Saskatchewan to play outside of the province due to COVID-19 rules. The Waywayseecappo Wolverines will not ice a team this season.

The four teams decided to play a 12-game schedule with a double home and home series against each of the other clubs. While the schedule will not be finalized until early November, the league hopes to begin play on Friday, Nov. 13 and conclude on Sunday, Feb. 7.

As for playoffs, the semi-finals (1 vs 4 and 2 v 3) will be a best of three series, with the league final a best of five.

Blaine Shire will serve as the President and Commissioner for the 2020-21 season. Peter Nabholz is the 1stVice-President and Vice-Commissioner, while Rick Brethour will continue to serve as 2ndVice-President. Tanya Menzies (Secretary-Treasurer), Randy Kalynuk (Referee-in-Chief) and Greg Nesbitt (Statistician) will remain in their roles.

Recent Headlines
(11/13/2021) Game postponed
(11/5/2021) NCHL season begins Nov. 12
(1/13/2021) NCHL cancels 2020-21 season
(11/7/2020) League start date pushed back
(10/20/2020) Four teams in NCHL for 2020-21 season
(10/2/2020) Annual Meeting on Sunday, Oct. 18
(3/13/2020) Miniota-Elkhorn C-Hawks win league title
(3/12/2020) NCHL announcement on Covid-19
(1/29/2020) League Awards and All-Star Teams
(1/28/2020) Suspensions to January 26
Go To Archives